A Personal Update

27 Mar

Okay, I’m apparently a very forgetful person when I’m drinking.  I forgot to finish the assignment I gave myself on Thursday after getting to the bar.  I have absolutely no idea what happened to my second attempt on Friday as the sheet went missing altogether.  Saturday was a success.  Here’s what I came up with:

Ha.  There you have it folks.  I’m embarrassed.

I have an update on my boyfriend’s situation:  It has been about 7 weeks since his DUI, and he is still waiting for his next court date.  He has not been convicted of any DUI charges as of yet, but he’s started taking the required classes which are from 7-9 P.M. every other Tuesday.  He rides his bike most places but is lucky to have people like me and his roommate to get rides to and from work.  A part of me feels like I should let him suffer.  Another part of me hates to see him suffer because I love and care about him.  What to do?

Either way, I’m nervous about what’s to come.  I looked up some of the consequences of a 2nd DUI offense and this is what I found….

First California DUI Offense

1st Drunk Driving Conviction

  • Jail: From 96 Hours to 6 Months
  • Fine: From $1,000 to $1,600
  • License Suspension: 6 Months
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • May Be Ordered to Install Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • California SR22 Insurance Required for Restricted License

Second California DUI Offense

2nd Drunk Driving Conviction (Within 10 Years of Previous)

  • Jail: 90 Days to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $1,000 to $1,900
  • License Suspension: 2 Years
  • May Apply for Restricted Driver License (IID Required)
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • California SR22 Certificate Required for Restricted License

Third California DUI Offense

3rd Drunk Driving Conviction (Within 10 Years of Previous)

  • Jail: 120 Days to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $1,000 to $2,000
  • License Suspension: 3 Years
  • You Receive a Designation as a Habitual Offender (This is not a good thing)
  • May Apply for Restricted Driver License after 1 Year
  • Ignition Interlock Device Required
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • California SR22 Certificate Required for Restricted License

Fourth DUI Offense in California

4th Drunk Driving Conviction(Within 10 Years of Previous)

  • Jail or Prison: 180 Days to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $1,000 to $3,000
  • License Suspension: 4 Years
  • May Apply for Restricted Driver License after 1 Year
  • Ignition Interlock Required
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • California SR22 Certificate Required for Restricted License

He could serve jail time anywhere from 90 days to a year!  My teddy bear of a boyfriend doesn’t belong in jail.  Without a license, he is no threat to society.  But this is a real possibility.  Several friends who have gotten 2nd DUI offenses have had to serve out their sentences over the weekends (go in on Friday and out on Sunday).  Needless to say, he’s terrified but staying optimistic.  I tell him to hope for the best but expect the worst.  We are still waiting for his court date to arrive in the mail.  The state seems to be taking its time, and I’m tired of waiting for this whole penalty ordeal to officially begin.  The stress definitely takes a toll on both of us.

My boyfriend says he felt sober when he drove home (then again, don’t they all).  He passed the field sobriety test, but still blew a .13.  Take a glance at the chart and see how much it takes for you to go over the legal limit.

2 Responses to “A Personal Update”

  1. mollyhersh March 31, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    For some reason within a month of each other 3 of my friends have gotten DUI’s, and it’s definitely not worth it. You’ve clearly laid out what will happen to you if you’re caught by an officer. I think anyone can see its not worth it. I also like how you practice what you preach. We can see through your handwriting that you were not fit to drive that night!

  2. homeschoolingfordummies.com April 1, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    That piece of paper is priceless! I know your topic is quite serious and even painful for you and your loved one, but can we just take a moment here? I don’t know if you came up with that idea on your own, but let me just say, GENIUS! I have to try this one. The remorseful drunk makes me laugh. I am that person. In fact, I am usually the one crying in a corner, actually, shoot lets not talk about that. Awwkwarrd.

    The pace of this blog is nice because if feels like we are just living through what you are dealing with in this situation. It’s nice. That chart that you posted was quite informational too. It actually surprises me how much you can drink and not be legally intoxicated. Scary stuff.

Leave a Reply

